top of page

Time with the Lord. Why it matters.


When we first got to Alabama I would occasionally (as in maybe once a week) read a small devotional on my bible app. This was a pattern that I had brought with me from Nevada. There was nothing inherently wrong or bad with that, I mean I was reading my bible right! The problem was that it didn't really have any purpose. I may have gotten a nugget or two of info, but it mostly went in and out the ears.

Then about a month or two in I started to get healthy, go for walks, make my morning cuppa and it was just so beautiful outside that I began to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. I began slowly adding another devotional, then another and another and before long I was spending an hour outside in the Word. I noticed things were changing inside the house too. Things like my attitude. I was a calmer mommy to my children, I had a clearer head and was able to tackle the ho hum things with a bit more "grace". I also noticed that if I didn't have my quiet time things would quickly go south. The dreaded mommy beast would come out! And let me tell you that my personal mommy beast was very much a demon. My kids were miserable, my husband was miserable and it was not cool.

Now I recognize not only the need for it, but I yearn for it. My kids know that if they wake up too early they are to give mom her time before asking for anything. Good fruits come from this, look at what I am showing my children by example! Look how I am arming myself against the devil and his works. I am hiding His word in my heart. Also, it is no coincidence that after I started to yearn for this God had given me complete affirmation that I was doing His will, it was the subject of my bible study at church! Oh man, sometimes I want to jump up like a mad woman and yell with amazement " is this for real?" because God blows me away daily! Go read Psalm 119, ALL OF IT. Look at all the blessings that come from studying the word.

My face every time some "coincidence" happens!

 

Scripture says:

Joshua 1:8 This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

Psalm 119:15-16 I will study your commandments and reflect on your ways. I will delight in your decrees and not forget your word.

Matthew 4:4 But he answered, “It is written, ‘Man does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”

Now these are just a few, and the ones that helped me to see that I was being obedient to God. You have to find your way to do it but I promise if you do, you will not regret it. For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any double-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul and spirit, joints and marrow, as it judges the thoughts and purposes of the heart. - Hebrews 4:12

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2017 by The Bama Bound 5, established 2003

bottom of page